Close message

Welcome to Kanopy

Brought to you by Washington County Cooperative Library Services

Not your library? Find it now
The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968-May 1969)
To start watching

The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968-May 1969)
Episode 7 of The Vietnam War

Show More

10 episodes in this series

Episode 1 Déjà Vu (1858-1961)
Vietnamese revolutionaries led by Ho Chi Minh end nearly a century of French colonial occupation. Vietnam is divided in two. Communists in the North aim to reunify the country, while…
Episode 2 Riding the Tiger (1961-1963)
Kennedy inspires idealistic Americans to serve their country and wrestles with how deeply to get involved in South Vietnam. As the autocratic Diem regime faces a communist insurgency and Buddhist…
Episode 3 The River Styx (January 1964-December 1965)
With South Vietnam in chaos, hardliners in Hanoi seize the initiative and send combat troops to the South. President Johnson escalates America's military commitment, authorizing bombing of the North and…
Episode 4 Resolve (January 1966-June 1967)
North Vietnamese troops and materiel stream down the Ho Chi Minh Trail into the South. As an antiwar movement builds back home, soldiers and Marines discover that the war they…
Episode 5 This Is What We Do (July 1967-December 1967)
American casualties mount as they face deadly North Vietnamese ambushes and artillery. Hanoi lays plans for a massive surprise offensive, and the Johnson administration reassures the American public that victory…
Episode 6 Things Fall Apart (January 1968-July 1968)
On the Tet holiday, North Vietnamese and Viet Cong forces launch attacks on cities and military bases throughout the South, suffering devastating losses but casting doubt on Johnson's promise that…
Episode 7 The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968-May 1969)
Public support for the war declines, and American men of draft age face difficult decisions and moral choices. After police battle with demonstrators in the streets of Chicago, Richard Nixon…
Episode 8 The History of the World (April 1969-May 1970)
With morale plummeting in Vietnam, President Nixon begins withdrawing American troops. As news breaks of an unthinkable massacre committed by American soldiers, the public debates the rectitude of the war.
Episode 9 A Disrespectful Loyalty (May 1970-March 1973)
U.S. airpower makes the difference in halting a North Vietnamese offensive. After being re-elected, Nixon announces Hanoi has agreed to a peace deal. American prisoners of war will finally come…
Episode 10 The Weight of Memory (March 1973-Onward)
While the Watergate scandal rivets Americans' attention, the Vietnamese continue in a civil war. When North Vietnamese troops pour into the South, Saigon collapses. For the next 40 years, all…

People who watched this also watched